Banana muffins with streusel topping

During my childhood, I used to hunt for food in the afternoon when my parents nap. I didn’t know that it was a bad food habit and my late parents never stopped me from doing it. I always found something delicious as my my mother and my grandmother made something sweet and stored it for surprise guests.They always made food at home and I am proud to inherit that habit.This bad food habit still haunts me and one fine afternoon I was craving some sweets and saw some overripe bananas and peaches.I did not want to load it with sugar.Then I saw the honey from the open market lying on the table and decided to make muffins.I used brown sugar only for the streusel topping.

Time: Total of 30 minutes (10 minutes preparation +20 minutes baking)

Serves : 18 medium muffins

banana-muffin-1

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour

2 overripe bananas

1 well ripe peach(if you don’t have peaches use 3 bananas instead of 2 bananas)

4 tbsp chopped walnuts

1 tsp soda bicarbonate

1 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

¾ tsp freshly ground cinnamon

½ cup unsalted butter, melted

½ cup honey

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1 tsp grated rind of lemon

For the streusel toppping:

¼ cup brown sugar

2 tbsp flour

1 tbsp butter

½ tsp freshly ground cinnamon

Method for streusel:

Mix all the ingredients listed under streusel topping to a fine breadcrumb consistency and set aside.

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 190°C.
  2. Mix the dry ingredients (flour, salt, soda by carb, baking powder, cinnamon powder) and whisk well, set aside.banana-muffin1-1
  3. Mash the bananas with the lemon rind and chop the peaches; mix together.
  4. In a mixing bowl add the honey, fruit mix, melted butter and beaten egg; combine then add the dry ingredients along with the nuts. Gently fold to combine.

    5.Spoon into lined muffin pans; top with streusel mix.

    6.Bake for 20 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.banana-muffin9-1

Leave a Reply

